A daughter finds her home on the range

.

By Michael Arrieta-Walden

 As a parent, you raise a child with visions of their future. 

 Then they build lives that are entirely different, and even more amazing than you imagined. 

  This is partly a classic story of a city mouse becoming a country mouse. But it also is a story of a father realizing that his daughter soared — despite his misguided and overbearing parenting. 

 Our daughter Maya graduated from college focused on communications and political science. She interned for a congressman in Washington, D.C. and at congressional office in San Diego. After graduation she headed back to Washington, D.C., and joined a communications and research firm, worked on a presidential campaign, and wrote for then-House Speaker Paul Ryan. 

 As the daughter of two journalists she was living the life I’d envisioned –  but maybe not the one she desired. 

My daughter, Maya Arrieta-Walden, loved working for then-House Speaker Paul Ryan at the nation’s Capitol.

Fast-forward three years: She and her boyfriend manage two cows, seven chickens and a robust garden on 20 acres in rural Colorado. She also works at a veterinary clinic while taking classes toward a vet tech license. 

She has traded researching tax policy and writing press releases for bucking hay and administering vaccines to animals. 

Maya could not be happier. And I could not feel more humbled or proud. 

 I confess I could be described as a helicopter parent. I relentlessly rode my daughter about school and grades. It was expected she would go to college. And I encouraged her to pursue power and influence in Washington. 

But she was brave enough to learn that that life was not the one she wanted. The one that I had envisioned was not hers to live. 

So, she abandoned the nation’s capital for Colorado. After initially considering nursing, she decided she would be happier caring for animals than humans. 

She’s been agile enough to move beyond being adept in politics and writing to mastering scientific studies. Her schooling and work have immersed her in anatomy, pathology and behavioral science. 

Instead of writing speeches and press releases, she examines blood smears for disease, gives vaccinations to wary dogs and cats, and coaches pet owners on critter behavior. 

Our urban-raised daughter says she now can’t imagine living in a city again. Instead, she rises each morning before dawn to feed animals and watches the sun rise on the eastern plains of Colorado. At day’s end, she collects eggs, refills the water trough, and pitches hay while watching the sun set in a sky of majestic pinks and purples. 

The journey for her was not easy, especially because of me. 

Shortly after she was born, I was working with a volatile reporter who complained that I was too controlling. She said she had made all but a couple of the changes I had suggested for her story, so why was I insisting on the remaining ones? After throwing her notebook across the room, she yelled, “I feel sorry for your daughter. She won’t have any freedom.” 

At the time, I was taken aback by what she said, and all but dismissed it. But the incident has stayed with me, and now I see that the reporter might have been prophetic. 

I spent way too much time worrying about Maya’s academics and future. I rationalized doing that so she would have future opportunities. I was often fixated on her homework and her grades. I imposed too many of my desires in her college search and selection. I set expectations that, frankly, were more about my goals than hers. 

I now see I was way too obsessive. But even more important, unlike my wife, Fran, I didn’t display enough faith in my daughter. I thought I knew what was best for her. I wasn’t confident enough that she could find a successful path.  

What I should have realized was that she would find her way, she would thrive at whatever path she chose. 

I also should have anticipated that it might take time for her to find her passion. After all, I switched from journalism to teaching at age 50! 

Maya says that she loves the rhythm and responsibility of rising each morning for chores, and is grateful for the natural beauty that surrounds her. She also sees her new career more as a new chapter rather than a new life. “I think it’s gratifying in a different way than what I used to do because you are still trying to help people, but you get to see more immediate and tangible results,” she says. 

I sometimes look at Maya and marvel at who she has become, an even more incredible adult than I envisioned. Most of all, I now revel in her happiness. And I enjoy the fresh eggs! 

***

Michael Arrieta-Walden

Michael Arrieta-Walden is a teacher in Aurora, Colorado. He and his wife Fran mostly raised Maya in Portland, where Mike was a managing editor and Fran was a copy editor at The Oregonian. Unlike Maya, her parents could not begin to drive a tractor, tell the difference between a chicken and a rooster, or herd a cow.   

Editor’s note: I’ve known Mike since I was a young reporter at the Statesman Journal in Salem, Oregon. He was a college intern then; over the next three decades he became a top-rank editor in Albuquerque, N.M.; Olympia, Wash.; and Portland, Ore. It was a huge pleasure to recruit him and Fran to The Oregonian and then see him launch into a second career as an elemeentary school teacher.

Tomorrow: Tammy Ellingson, Summer school with Dad

19 thoughts on “A daughter finds her home on the range

  1. Mike, kudos to you and your daughter for changing career courses and pursuing your passion.
    Helicoptering reader and one-time farm boy – a rooster is a male, a hen is a female. They are both chickens.

  2. This was timely for me. Two of my three kids have completely switched their interests in the last two years to reflect more thoughtful, joy-bringing careers than I initially thought they might do. And while this non-traditional college student dad had hoped all three might avoid the mistakes he made, they have no fear of doing things non-traditionally, probably because I dragged them to my classes at University of Oregon when their mom had to work. Another thing about this piece that resonates with me is the fact that young people today seem to gravitate towards careers or down pathways that aren’t as selfish or ambitious but rather beneficial to society. I hope that’s a trend and not just my hopeful observation.

    • Hello Tim, I am glad the piece resonated with you. It is wonderful that you daughters who have no fear of doing things non-traditionally. I also agree that younger folks are looking out for society. Thanks,
      Mike

  3. Michael – it sounds like you succeeded in helping to raise a young girl who grew into a strong, independent woman – kudos to you!

    As one of six, and decidedly the one who caused the most sleepless nights for my parents, I know that children will find their own paths in spite of the desires of their parents. When I flew east two years ago to say goodbye to my dying father, I told him I’d only ever desired his pride in me. He responded that he’d always been proud of me. What better gift can a daddy give his daughter? It sounds like you ooze pride for Maya.

    • Lynn, thanks for your kind and generous words. I am sorry for your loss, but I am so pleased that your father gave you that gift. Thanks, Mike

  4. This sweet story has me in unexpected tears — and not just misting up tears. You’re a wonderful father and person, Michael!

    • JoLene, thanks for your wonderful words. Your praise means a lot to me. I hope you are doing well! Thanks,
      Mike

  5. I loved reading this, and I remember your previous essay about your own career change. How wonderful your daughter was able to switch to a more fulfilling path. (My mom, a former elementary school teacher, provides me with my own fresh eggs from her beloved chickens)

  6. Michael, I love how self aware you are about your parenting. We all do the best we can for our kids out of love and care for their futures. Your daughter is blessed to have two parents who care. You raised her to know what she wants and to have the guts to make it happen.

    From one teacher to another, it sounds like you are the best kind of teacher; one who keeps learning about themselves. 😎

    • Tammy, thanks so much for reading and reacting. But you give me too much credit. I wish I had been more self-aware while we were raising our daughter! Thanks, Mike

  7. Michael, I. am so happy. that Maya. has found peace and happiness in the country and that she is staying true to herself. She. was an amazing. 5th. grader and. it sounds like she. has grown into an amazing adult. I. do. hope. that she continues to write, she is so very good at it. Honestly compared to many parents you were a piece of cake!

    • Hello Sue! It is so wonderful to hear from you. I don’t feel I ever adequately thanked you for all you did for Maya. Now having taught fifth grade, I know better the challenges you faced. I can still remember working with you and the students on the colonial newspaper. I also recall how Fran and I once had a parent-teacher conference that went on for more than an hour; we so appreciated your patience and commitment. Thanks again for all you did for our family, Mike

  8. Mike: I really enjoyed simply hearing what Maya is doing. I remember her as a mid-teen when she would come by the newsroom occasionally to see you and/or Fran. Then, a few years back, I remember running into Fran along SE Hawthorne and being told that Maya had gone into politics. And now this! She seems to have really found something that appeals to her. That’s so great. Best wishes to her…and to her parents, who really need to take a little credit.

    • John, it’s so great to hear from you. Thanks for reading and commenting. I hope you and Marlie are doing well. I always admired how devoted you were to your boys. You were an inspiration. I now see from occasional posts that you are an incredible grandfather! Take care, Mike

  9. Mike, when our daughter was considering colleges to attend, she really wanted to go to Princeton. I wailed to my wife that “our baby was gonna go across the country and not come back”. Then, she applied to and enrolled at a California university and I wailed “our daughter lacks the confidence to go across the country”! Despite my wailing, she ultimately went where she wanted to go, studied what she wanted to study, found a career she loves, married a great guy and has a become a wonderful mother and adult woman. When we guide rather than direct, our kids thrive. Kudos to you for learning to become a guide. Your students will ultimately benefit.

    • Thanks for reading and writing. I love what you said: “When we guide rather than direct, our kids thrive.” I’ve learend that is so true! Thanks,
      Mike

  10. Mike, your piece exemplifies one of the truly greatest things about American culture: our society’s total embrace of flexibility in work and careers. I come from Asian heritage, and can say that such acceptance of individualism and change is not universally respected. I have changed careers so many times. From marketing to education, back to marketing, and then back to education again. Our whole culture and society is set up to give us this freedom to pursue our happiness, and I love that

Leave a comment