Return to sender

By Lynn St. Georges 

One nice thing about electronic mail is the sent folder. Folks wanting to keep a record of things they’ve sent to family and friends over the years can easily archive those writings. Before email the letters went one way and we never saw them again, missing views of our younger selves … unless you have a parent who saves letters you and your siblings sent over the years. 

My father bequeathed me his trunk of papers that included, among other things, his original birth announcement from 1926, his military papers showing he was excluded from serving in WWII because of physical frailties from a childhood bout of rheumatic fever, and a thick folder of letters from all his children and ex-wife. 

My father’s birth announcement 

Even better, though, was the surprise envelope I received in the mail a couple of months ago. My father and his wife insisted that what was his went to his children and what was hers to her children. It’s not hard for some crossover during a 43-year shared life, so over the next 18 months as our stepbrother and stepsister went through their mother’s things, who passed away a year after our father, they found things that belonged with the St. Georges children. And that explained the surprise envelope I received in the mail. 

My letters in my father’s trunk were from the floundering and lost soul I was in my teens and early 20s. I shouldn’t have been surprised to read, in letters from two sisters and mom, the same sentence – “What are we going to do about Lynn?” – repeated.  

Yeah, sorry fam. I know those years were rough on you as well.  

The content in this envelope, though, showed the beginnings of a future that seemed hopeful. This envelope covered the years when I was starting to figure things out and included letters and clippings. I was settled with Jim by then and had returned to college (University of New Mexico), albeit in fits and starts, but I was determined. Being a St. Georges meant going to college, even if on a 10-year schedule. 

The fits and starts included dropping in and dropping out, taking a class here and there without really having a goal other than to get a degree. It wasn’t until I was nearly done with all the group requirements that I considered journalism. I loved English courses and decided journalism was similar but with better odds at a paying job. The creative writing I’d been doing to date wasn’t going to pay the bills. 

Long ago writing 

One day I walked into the journalism department to express my interest. I met with an older woman who typified journalists in those days with the low, rough voice from too many cigarettes and too much booze. She said, “Can you type?” I proudly said I could and she sat me down in front of a typewriter and said, “Show me.” I pecked away using the index finger of each hand and she quickly stopped me and ordered that I take a typing class first. 

The serious college student 

I began my journalism studies the next semester. It wasn’t long before I took a persuasive writing class taught by author Tony Hillerman. The letter I sent my dad then shows the beginning of a dream. 

The beginnings of excitement are showing while enrolled in Tony Hillerman’s class 

I graduated with a BA in journalism in December 1983. The way to break into journalism is by “paying your dues,” meaning finding some small weekly newspaper where you work for almost nothing. I was 28 years old and living with Jim. We did not yet have custody of his daughter, Amber, so he wasn’t willing to move, and as an older graduate with debts it just wasn’t logical. I kept doing what I’d been doing – working part time for the Albuquerque Journal as an assistant at the city desk and freelancing. I’d also gained a lot of experience as a college student having interned at both the Albuquerque Business Magazine and United Press International (UPI).  

I was excited about what I was doing. I loved feature writing, traveling to interview people around the state and seeing my byline in the paper. Jefferson Spivey was one such story. (I googled him after being reminded of this story and learned he lived an interesting life and passed away in 2022.) 

Excitement begins to show pride 

I mailed resumes and clippings until I was hired as a full-time features writer for the Greeley (Colorado) Tribune in autumn 1985. Jim and I decided to see how things worked out before he joined me there, so I went alone and signed a one-year lease on a house.  

It’s typical to have a mentor at a newspaper … unless your editor’s first day is the same as yours and she is as young and inexperienced as you are. Ten weeks after I was hired, I was fired for not being good enough. I was devastated and returned to Albuquerque, where I spent the next month on the couch, emotionally wounded. 

A former colleague at UPI called me in January 1986 asking me to cover the upcoming legislative session for them. I refused. He begged. Finally I acquiesced and took the job, driving daily to Santa Fe in my 1969 VW van. It was among the best things anyone has insisted I do because I rejoined the world; however, I never worked in journalism again. 

I was hired as a technical editor for a DOD contractor, and after a few years was recruited by a DOE contractor at the Hanford Site. After 18 months, I moved into a role in the environmental field and had a successful and enriching career for the next 25 years.  

I never wrote creatively again until George invited me to participate in Voices of August 12 years ago. For our 2015 VOA gathering, we had moved to the coast and were staying in a Portland hotel overnight. I wandered to the breakfast room the morning after our gathering to get coffee. While in the queue, a young woman asked me what brought me to Portland. After telling her, she exclaimed, “Oh! You’re a writer!” 

I paused, smiled, and responded, “Yes, I am a writer.” 

I had forgotten those budding feelings of success as a writer in the early 1980s until I rediscovered that younger self in these letters to my father. 

***

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is lynn-st.-georges-2023-2402278011-e1689892453962.jpg

Lynn St. Georges has been a proud member of the Voices of August community since its inception. It has been both an honor and a privilege to share these virtual pages with so many wonderful people. Thanks to George and the VOA community, for the first time since the end of 1985 and that dreadful month curled in a fetal position on the couch, I’ve been able to say that yes, I am a writer. 

Editor’s note: Yes, Lynn is definitely a writer. She’s also a fine human being, an empath who wears her heart on her sleeve and voices her opinions forcefully. She’s an avid reader, a lover of poetry and music, and a prolific commenter on VOA posts (as if you hadn’t noticed). She’s been fearless and honest in describing her losses and setbacks in life but also her resiliency and triumphs. We met on a sunny day in 2009 after an email correspondence that began when she wrote a letter to the editor of The Oregonian and I, as Sunday Opinion editor, reached out to her in response. Turned out to be the start of a great friendship.

Tomorrow: Lillian Mongeau Hughes, “Balance”

25 thoughts on “Return to sender

  1. Lynn: It’s amazing the ups and downs and turns and turnabouts we take during a long life. Thanks for sharing, and for being your ‘stubborn’ self.

    • Thanks John. Stubborn and fiercely independent can be a challenging mix, but as the saying goes, I y’am what I y’am. I hope to see you at our last hurrah.

  2. Lynn,
    Thanks for sharing some of the stepping stones of your life.
    As I read your story, I thought of the many times I felt I had to prove myself to my parents.
    As the youngest, it felt like an extra dose of work!

    • Thanks Lori. I think many boomers have similar thoughts about their upbringing. Our father had very high expectations of his children, and I think some of our collective neuroses can be attributed to that. Over the years we’ve talked about how having him proud of us mattered more than any success. When we flew east three years ago to say goodbye, we each had our private time to say what we needed to say. I told him I only ever wanted him to be proud of me, to which he responded, “I’ve always been proud of you”. I carry those words.

      The Philip Larkin poem I shared the other day, This Be The Verse, says a lot about childhood for many.

  3. Lynn,

    It’s amazing to read this story. I got my start in journalism around the time social media showed up on the scene, and even though I had a 10-year run as a journalist, my editors tended to recognize my Twitter talent more so than the narrative journalism I aspired to. It was friends, outside publications and blogs like VOA that allowed me to jump back into writing something more than 120 characters now and then, and I’m so glad George invited me to be here so I could meet folks like you and to see your words here each year. Thank you for sharing this.

    • Thanks for reading and your comment, Tim. I tried to avoid talking about how hugely disappointing it was that I didn’t break into being a journalist. I truly loved feature writing but, as they say, it is what it is. I did have a good career. I tell young people now who are struggling to choose a major to choose journalism because it teaches skills that are useful in any career – writing, interviewing, researching. At Hanford, my final manager hesitated to hire a non-technical person for a technical role. At my farewell gathering, when we moved to Oregon, he said he’d always have one non-technical person on his staff because of the broader perspective I brought. My shining days at Hanford was thinking of and implementing a project that everyone said “you can’t do that”. Ha! Never tell a St. Georges can’t. 🙂

      I’m sure going to miss the magic that George created here, but I also understand knowing when to call it done. Honestly, I expected that at Year 10, so I guess it’s better to focus on the extra years he’s given this community. Hope to see you at the gathering.

  4. Here’s to more years of writing for you! Over the years I have much appreciated your courage in your VOA submissions.

  5. No one I know better typifies “living out loud” than you, Lynn. Google says: “According to pop culture, it means living your life with sass, spice, and flare (sic). Urban dictionary elaborates further to include living genuinely, open, and trustworthy. Put simply, ‘Live out loud’ is the practice of being yourself, regardless of others’ opinions.”

    In this piece and in every other one you’ve composed for VOA, you’ve let us into your head and your heart while occasionally (OK, repeatedly) venting your spleen over perceived injustices and political assholery. I’m glad you’ve overcome more than one personal challenge on the way to where you are right now in life — and I’ll forever be glad we met in that parking lot 14 years ago.

    • Oh George, thank you so much. I’m not sure you know how much your kindness has meant to me. When we first met a month after Jim died, I was still struggling to stand upright. I truly had no idea how to exist. You invited me to bowling and then VOA, yet I’d been a stranger. I guess the concept of “stranger” is unfamiliar to you. Regardless, my appreciation of your friendship runs deep.

  6. Lynn, I always enjoy your pieces and loved this one especially because it shared the beginnings of your career. I remember with fondness your assistance as editor the one year I tried my hand at VOA. In the last year I have tried my hand at poetry and storytelling, a far cry from bureaucratic report writing. Thank you for getting me started and continuing to share your excellent writing as a model..

    • You are too kind, Molly. Thank you so much for your sharing your thoughts on my essay. It’s wonderful hearing you, too, are a writer, though hopefully not one as lazy as me. Long, long ago I bought one of the early word processors (it cost a small fortune!) because I was going to be a famous writer. I learned quickly that the darn thing expected me to actually sit down and write. Folks who are truly writers work their craft. I simply lacked the discipline.

  7. Lynn,
    How special it is to be able to look back in letters at that moment of time in your life. I enjoyed learning about the beginnings of your career and the changes that came after, though your love for writing remains.

    Thanks for sharing your writing with us.

    • Thank you, Luisa. It’s really special that my dad saved all these letters. I, too, have boxes of all the letters and cards I’ve received through the decades. I had to laugh when I went through them a couple of years ago when getting ready to move and trying to downsize even more. At the bottom of one of the boxes was a tied bundle of letters from some guy I’d known in my early teens. Apparently he mattered then but I honestly remember zilch about him. Btw, I failed trying to downsize these two boxes. I taped them shut again and figured my daughter can enjoy them after I’m gone. 🤷🏼‍♀️

  8. Lynn, August isn’t over yet so I won’t consider myself late in responding to your piece. I was so jealous as I read your comment about the expectations for the “St. George’s” – my eight brothers and sisters had to find our something’s to aspire to. And what a gift to have your younger self’s letters returned to you. My wife received her great grandfather’s love letters to his wife written during the Civil War and we hope to have them turned into a book. Perhaps yours might be deserving of the same?

    • I’m proud to be a St. Georges, as are my siblings. I have two sisters and none of us changed our names when we married. But there are downsides to being raised with what at times felt like unrealistic expectations. My siblings were wired differently and didn’t seem to struggle the way I did.

      Long ago I gave my poetry and other writings to my daughter, who also struggles, to show her that being okay is achievable. I’ll leave any considerations of a book to her.

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

  9. So loved reading the papers your dad kept and seeing how proud you were. Lynn, you got any poetry too share? I’d love to read it!

    • The young Lynn? She wrote so much poetry but I’ve learned it was to continue to work through so much … stuff. I was so screwed up and fought like hell to be … better, however that’s defined. I gave my folder of that version of myself to my daughter long ago to show her that even screwed up people can recover and thrive. I’m happy to share with you what I have from that time.

      The more-current version of Lynn didn’t have as strong a need to navel gaze. I have a couple things I’ve written, including one that’s actually pretty good. Again, happy to share.

      Thanks for reading and commenting. Are you in Taos?

Leave a comment