Cultivating curiosity

Credit: preschoolnation.org

By Jina S. Bazzar

As I sit here pondering what to write, rain drenching my face, the salt of the ocean stinging my eye, the… Wait, no, no. There’s no rain in the summers here in Palestine. We have, however, blistering hot, very dry conditions. The sky is clear, the birds are singing, the flowers are blooming. It’s the perfect time for beach vacations, the gentle lap of soothing waves, the shade of swaying frond leaves, the call of seagulls. Wait, there are no beaches on this side of the wall either.

Okay, let’s try again… it’s the perfect time for picnics, sightseeing, fruit picking, doing dishes, house chores, mosquito baiting, and there are no F-16 bombings nearby, no riots, nor any sound of gunfire today. (Sorry, had to drop that last part in. You know, in case you wondered when you saw Palestine mentioned above.)

Mmmm, but where was I?

Oh yes, as I sit here pondering what to write, sweat dripping down my face, mosquitoes buzzing in my ears, I consider which trending topic to tackle: global warming, war, poverty, pandemic, politics…but I want none of those.

Everywhere you click on the net, every channel you flip on TV, people are discussing these same things.

Have we lost the capacity to discuss other topics, I wonder, to feel something else aside from negative emotions?

The thought ricocheted in my mind, reminding me of a comment someone made once, about there being no new inventions that haven’t been invented, that anything new is simply an expansion on old creations, or an idea taken from a speculative book or movie.

I suppose to an extent the comment was true. But then, there are no new inventions – until there are. This scientist/genius is then revered for their creation, as if out of 7.9 billion people, they are uniquely different.

But are they, really?

What causes people to stop believing, never consider crossing beyond the borders of their minds?

I think this limitation starts at a very young age, when curiosity is smothered with a ready answer.

Is this true?

I have no idea.

But, bear with me as I make my point.

I am a mother of three. As with most parents, my firstborn was an experiment in terror and patience, while the second was more tempered. What I felt didn’t work for the first, I withheld from the second while trying new things. The third, however, is a culmination of my experience with the older two.

The two oldest are curious, the average kind that is satisfied with whatever answer they’re given, regardless if the answer is something they understand or not. The third, however, isn’t so easily placated. An answer always has loops and hoops and holes to be explored. A simple word with no double meaning can be taken in various ways; a simple, proven fact of nature is no longer easy to explain.

Yes, his curiosity and need to explore and discover has been the cause for much heart palpitation, white hair, and hand-on-the-mouth-oh-my-God-don’t-let-me-laugh-in-his-face moments. But his active mind opened mine to the fact that many parents simply dish out ready answers to shut children up (for whatever reason) while at the same time discouraging them to ask more, to explore more. “I don’t know.” Or “because it is,” are two ready answers people give to discourage lengthy conversations. In school, teachers say, “Not now, Jane.” Or “Wait for your turn.” Or “Don’t interrupt,” until a time, or grade, when children no longer feel the need to raise a hand and ask a question that is loosely related to their study.

We bind their curiosity by shutting their minds and their potential with all the can’t, don’t, and shouldn’t walls, layering them so thick and deep, by the time they’re grown-ups, all that bright curiosity they could have used to see beyond the horizon got snuffed out.

Inventors, in my opinion, are simply those children who grew up to see possibilities without expected limits.

We, the human race, have been conditioned – by parents, teachers, news, and life — to think a certain way, to choose specific paths. You can say we’ve been herded through a handful of acceptable methods, discarding everything else as wrong. People who choose the “wrong” paths are the minorities of today’s society, the ones clambering for equality in diversity, race, ethnicity, capability, sexual orientation.

I have a personal experience with expectations, as well as those perceived methods to live, and it’s not by way of children.

I became blind around my early twenties due to a chronic disease. I received no help coping, no assistance, because it never occurred to me and mine to go looking for it. Pity and sympathy were hard pills to swallow, and I realized soon enough that there was nothing down in despair but agony and sadness – and it wasn’t my place.

I taught myself to care for my son, myself, my home. For over a dozen years, I’ve thrived to be as independent as I could be, honing my remaining senses, tuning them to my surroundings. Inside my home, I need zero help – not for cleaning, not for cooking, not for raising my children and all those myriad things a person at home needs.

It was only recently that I joined a group for blind people. Despite all I’ve learned from them, I realized my lack of aid transitioning from the sighted world to the blind helped me be more independent, to take risks when others are warned not to.

I’m not saying I had an easy time adapting, only that I adapted better.

But I grew unencumbered by the can’t and don’t and shouldn’ts, and I’m more independent in my life than most people in the group, who attended blind school for years, because I followed no set of rules and tested my limits on my own.

Yes, I have my accidents – from the painful to the humorous, to the frustrating and infuriating and the oh-so-embarrassing, but hey, so do sighted people.

Jina S. Bazzar

Jina S. Bazzar is a Palestinian author, born and raised in Brazil. Like most writers, her love of books began at a young age. Unlike most writers, she never aspired to become one. It was only years after she became blind that she tried her hand at writing, giving voice to all the wild, rambling thoughts in her mind. She now lives in Palestine with her family, taking inspiration from the smallest things in life. When she’s not writing or networking on social media, you can find her in the kitchen, baking while listening to (often very loud) music.

*

Editor’s note: I met Jina by chance in December after she left a comment on a book review I posted on my blog. Jina is a writer of fantasy fiction, as well as a wife and mother. She lives in a village in the West Bank, and I’ve learned so much from her about the challenges facing the Palestinian people. Through our e-mails, I’ve enjoyed her sense of humor and our ongoing dialogue about family, food, music, books and international issues. Also, turns out we both love Snickers.

Tomorrow: The sighs of Texas | Michael Granberry

42 thoughts on “Cultivating curiosity

  1. Jina, so interesting. I felt that reading your piece was like peeling an onion. So many layers to you, and your life. What interesting perspectives you have through where you’ve lived, and what has happened with you. I did expect reading your bio that I might hear a more political message, but you blew my expectations away. What an excellent way to start my day!!

  2. Jina, your piece is lovely and confounding. All of us have some knowledge of Palestine, but mostly through either a geopolitical or religious lens, and even then, filtered further through the lens of mass media. You shared a very specific sliver of your life and experience, that you intentionally disconnected from my pre-conceived background knowledge and context. At first, I reacted with surprise to your piece, but now I realize that I was only surprised because of my own superficial and lazy assumptions. The humanity and universality of your piece is inspiring. The gift of your writing is that you caused me to wrestle with my sorrowful one- and two-dimensional patterns of thinking. Thank you!

    • Aki, you have brilliantly articulated what so many of us carry around — a shallow, largely one-dimensional understanding of a particular place and its people. Corresponding with Jina for these past several months has opened my eyes to new ways of seeing.

  3. Jina, although my daughter turns 30 this year I STILL remember the endless questions. I finally got so tired I decided to change it around, why/what/how do you think this is? What was for me an easy way out turned out to be endless entertainment while helping her develop her evaluation and thinking skills. I believe that when asked at age 7 what our family motto was, her answer was why be normal?
    What lucky children to have such a great mom who will teach them there are only limits you set yourself.

    What a great piece this is. I can see why you choose to be an author, you rock it!

  4. Jina, thank you so much for sharing this story. Very well written. And, isn’t it always the goal of “giving voice to all the wild, rambling thoughts” in our minds that push us to be writers? I call it, taming the monkey. Keep at it, and stay safe.

  5. These scattered thoughts give me much to think about, from my parenting to the best atmosphere for survival and questioning what is a current-day minority.
    I’d argue that in my world here in the Pacific Northwest it isn’t people clambering for equality in diversity, race, ethnicity, capability, sexual orientation.
    Thanks for stirring my curiosity and offering good food for thought. You’re engaging, and we need a couple hours and a bottle of wine! Cheers.

    • Honestly, I think people are just obsessed with putting labels – labelizing? – things and people. Minority or no, we’re all one bunch of homo sapiens, regardless of how many boxes people get labeled into. Discrimination is real – I’ve personally been at the end of many – but it still baffles me. Naïve, I know, but what can I say? I can never wrap my head around it.

  6. At times, I wonder what life is like for the citizens of Palestine (a place I only know about through the media) to live in amidst so much political strife and daily violence. Then I realize, it is probably not that different from sections of many of the larger cities in the U.S., maybe just more condensed.
    Your own home environment sounds peaceful and comfortable and since I probably will not travel to Palestine any time in the near future, I greatly appreciate this window into your life.

    • Palestine is a very old place. Historic sites here range from centuries to millennia. We even have trees dating back 4 and 5 thousand years still standing. Jericho has one of the oldest settlements in the world, according to archeologist, I mean. The settlement is loooong gone (Mr. Google said 9000BC) In Jerusalem, you have all 3 religions standing side by side – The Weeping wall, Church of the Holy Sepulcher, and Dome of the rock, to name but a few sites.
      As for conflicts, they’re not on every single inch of ground. There are places that rarely see any conflicts. There are pockets, so to speak, for conflict zones – though they do spill at times to surrounding areas. The people are also a bit more intense, in my opinion, though not every one would agree.

  7. At first I wanted to comment on my trip to see an aunt in Israel shortly after the 1982 massacre in the refugee camps in Lebanon, and learning that my aunt’s two young children from her marriage to an Israeli man disliked Palestinians solely because of their adult teachers.

    Then I wanted to comment on children and birth orders and how I’ve never understood how children from the same egg and sperm donors can be so different (I am four of six).

    Finally, I thought of my first nephew who was born dead. He was so smart that it wasn’t until he was 15 months old that his parents learned he was deaf. They chose to raise him in the world of hearing children, and it wasn’t until he was a teenager that he discovered the deaf community. As teens do, he rebelled but not to things like drugs or alcohol, but abandoning how he’d been taught to function in a hearing world to learn sign language. I think the combination has given him the best of both worlds, like yourself.

    Welcome to our community! I love hearing new voices and perspectives.

    • Lynn, I try my best to keep my kids from watching the news and learning about the conflicts between Israeli and Palestinians. Some think it’s wrong of me to keep them shielded, but they really aren’t. They learn most about everything from friends and family friends, every day life, and occasionally through youtube videos. They absolutely don’t need to build upon media impressions – mostly one sided when you are, basically, the other side of that news report. It’s (the news) jaded, it’s inflated, and it does as much damage to children’s psyche as mental abuse. I know people – elders and teachers – who poison younger minds with violence and revenge, and nothing gets accomplished but more deaths and grief-ridden people.
      Now, let me also say that the problem here in Palestine is so much more complex than words can convey. There’s a saying – “there’s his truth, there’s her truth, and then there’s the real truth.”
      In this case, there are so many more sides than “them and us” each multifaceted to boot, and it’s mind boggling.

  8. Wonderful piece, Jina! We lived, for a time, in a Palestinian community on the southern end of Chicago’s South Side. Not wanting to interject politics into the lives of our children, we waited for them to melt into the community, to play basketball with Palestinian boys and go to class with Palestinian girls before answering their questions about conflicts as old as time in the Middle East. The most difficult part was letting them figure out, for themselves, based on their relationships with their new-found friends, how to process this part of history they didn’t have references for in the Googles of their minds. But in the end, they have a much richer understanding of history and a great respect for Palestine and the plight of Palestinians around the world. Incidentally, the community on Chicago’s South Side, is the oldest Palestinian Community in America, and I learned so much from my time living their and many converstions with dads as we watched our kids play soccer on Saturday mornings.

    Tim Akimoff

    • Thanks, Tim.
      The nice coincidence is that I also have friends and some distant family who lived, and others who still live in that Chicago community. There are other communities – younger, and maybe a bit smaller, around the US – Texas, NY, California.
      Kids learn better, their opinions richer, when they experience things on their own, don’t they?

    • Tim, is there any place on Earth that you haven’t visited? And better yet, don’t have a story about? I am endlessly entertained learning about where you’ve been and what you’ve done. And, Jina, I’m blown away to learn that you have friends and family who still in that Chicago community where Tim once did. The internet sucks in many ways, but not when it comes to connections like these. Glad to have both of you in my orbit of friends!

  9. I’m finding that kids these days seem to know so much as if the information is being transmitted genetically! They are curious, but also seem to know so much already – everything from how to operat an IPad or play chess.
    I came close to where you live a few years ago – on the Jordan side near the Dead sea – it was so beautiful and the food so good – so many sauces and spice mixes at breakfast. I’ve also visited virtually through a movie – Wedding in Ramallah, where I discovered that everywhere you go it’s the ordinary things that matter. Like gold for a wedding – the same is true in my country of origin – India. And eventually, moving to the US only led to the discovery that daily life can be dull and boring here and you can feel lonely. (Also another true experience for many immigrants.) Good to hear your thoughts.

    • I’ve been to Jordan a few times, LJ, though not the side close to the dead sea (I went to Amman). I’ve also lived in the US for a few years and understand completely how the days can be lonely and strange.
      Thanks for the visit and have a lovely week.

  10. Pingback: Cultivating Curiosity – Jina S. Bazzar

  11. A very interesting post we can all relate to in various ways. The map reminds us how small an area and how landlocked Palestine is. But of course life goes on. My three children are completely different and so are their grown up lives.

    • Thanks, Janet, for taking the time to drop by and leave a comment.
      It’s amazing how children of the same household grow up so differently, despite having lived through the same circumstances.

  12. wow oh wow Jina, the discussion in this comments section are just as fascinating as your article! Appreciate your documentation of parenting … first one is always the practice run 🙂

    You used the word ‘herded’, I’ve often used the words brainwashed or indoctrinated which alientates readers … your term is far more profound and I will be using it from now on, thanks! Yes I often think it’s easier for people to drift with societal ‘norms’ without ever questioning the system. Your blindness empowered you to adapt and question those ‘norms’ and it’s been my experience that those who face challenges usually come out winners in more ways than one 🙂

    Totally appreciate you sharing this and your face is beautiful, your smile captivating.

  13. What a wonderful guest post, George, and I loved your statement about how you came to know Jina. Hi Jina (waving). An excellent read and a great reason to step away from your break for a day or two. You’re such a moving and thoughtful writer and this post got me thinking on multiple levels. It does seem that “fear” is the main thing being peddled these days, and it’s such a shame, so limiting. I used the think that love was the antidote, but perhaps curiosity is the way to get there. “Tell me more” is going to see a boost in my vocabulary. Thank you, my friend. Hugs.

    • Hey Diana.
      I can imagine your “Tornado Boy” is the kind of kid who asks lots and lots of questions too.
      Like you, George is from Oregon, a retired journalist, and a bookworm, though for some reason I can’t understand, he keeps away from fantasy books :(.
      Thanks for the visit, and have a lovely and productive weekend!

      • Tornado boy does ask a lot of questions. Ha ha. But as he gets older he’s picking up opinions and experience too. I’ll have to start asking him, “why?” And thanks for the introduction to George. Be well, my friend. ❤ ❤

    • Hi Diana! Thanks for the compliment. All I did was ask Jina and she delivered. I appreciated how she covered so much ground in the one post and, better yet, sparked this rich conversation in the comments. So, you live in Oregon too? Nice.

      • I do live in Oregon, about an hour north of Portland. 🙂 Jina’s a lovely person and wonderful writer. I’ve been a follower for years, and it was nice to connect with her on your blog. Have a lovely Sunday and Happy Writing.

  14. George, an exceptional guest post by Jina!

    Jina, you’re a born writer and in one post you take us to your homeland, touches on the wider political scope and fears. For most of us, a picnic is just that not having the terrifying possibility of F16s. Through all your hardships you remind us about the power of the mind, how questions open the imagination and worlds unknown. I love your sentence of :

    ‘Inventors, in my opinion, are simply those children who grew up to see possibilities without expected limits.’

    Your words remind me of Richard Bach’s quote “if you argue for your limitations they are yours”. Children’s endless questions should be celebrated as we join in seeing the wonder of the world!

    Your perseverance, fortitude and spirit are inspiring and I’m glad to have met you here on WP.
    Take care xx

    • Hi Annika,
      Thanks for stopping and commenting. I couldn’t agree more that Jina’s guest blog was exceptional. She packed a lot into that one piece and expressed herself elegantly. I loved seeing the comments it sparked.

    • Aww, Annika, thank you for this lovely comment. WP has a wonderful community, filled with amazing people like you and George, people I’m very grateful to have met.
      Bach’s quote is very true – loved it!
      Thanks for the visit and hope you have a lovely week!

Leave a comment