30 for 30

South End Loop connects to the Cascade Lake Trail in Moran State Park. Great place for a run.

South End Loop connects to the Cascade Lake Trail in Moran State Park. Great place for a run.

Well, I pulled it off — an entire month of exercise, with not a single day missed.

That may not seem like much, but I’ll take it. Especially when I didn’t even set out to accomplish it, as I did earlier this year, only to fall short because of illness and injury.

This time around, it just happened on its own. Halfway through the month of June, I checked my exercise log and realized I’d done something every day. If I didn’t call attention to it, I thought, I just might pull it off.

And so I did, with a helpful dose of support from Lori, who put up with me squeezing in one swim on a Saturday evening and then a very early Sunday morning run the next day.

Obligatory selfie after the 4.5-mile run.

Obligatory selfie after the 4.5-mile run.

Here’s how the month broke down (and as I type this, I fully realize these stats matter to one but myself):

10 runs

7 swims

6 weights

4 bike rides

2 yoga sessions

1 round of golf *

* And, by the way, that round of golf on Orcas Island last Friday produced my best scores ever for 9 holes (50) and 18 holes (105). Never before do I remember breaking 120 for 18. At this rate, I’ll be ready to join the PGA tour in, oh, maybe 2025?

A gorgeous day on the links at Orcas Island Golf Course. Saw a nesting bald eagle on No. 2.

A gorgeous day on the links at Orcas Island Golf Course. Saw a nesting bald eagle on No. 2.

4 thoughts on “30 for 30

  1. Yay! And I gotta get in the pool!! I default to home workouts given the kid schedule . I think I’m most impressed by seven of 30 in the water.

Leave a Reply

