3 good things about Tuesday


1. Having Sade’s “Kiss of Life” come up on the iPod during my morning run. Reminded me of when I saw her and John Legend in concert a couple years ago. Fabulous.

2. Witnessing a random act of kindness on the morning commute. A Latino man, in baseball cap and work shirt, offers a young white mom help getting her stroller off at the light-rail stop to the zoo so she can safely disembark with her young son in arms. Nobody asked him. He just did it.

3. Reading the prologue to “My Beloved World,” Justice Sonia Sotomayor’s memoir.

The challenges I have faced – among them material poverty, chronic illness, and being raised by a single mother – are not uncommon, but neither have they kept me from uncommon achievements. For many it is a source of hope to see someone realize her dreams while bearing such burdens.

Having caught people’s attention in this way, I’ve thought long and hard about what lessons my life might hold for others, young people especially. How is it that adversity has spurred me on instead of knocking me down? What are the sources of my own hope and optimism?

Most essentially my purpose in writing is to make my hopeful example accessible. People who live in difficult circumstances need to know that happy endings are possible.

Can’t wait to read more from this wise puertorriqueña

Leave a Reply

