Man date

Five years ago, I remember feeling as though I had crossed a threshold when Nathan treated me to a Steely Dan concert in the Portland suburbs.

After a lifetime of picking up the tab for movies, meals and other outings, it was a pleasant surprise to have our oldest child spring for the show at the Clark County amphitheater.

mayer-hawthorne

Mayer Hawthorne on vocals

Last night, it was my turn to return the favor. Father and son enjoyed some guy time at the Wonder Ballroom, where Mayer Hawthorne played a sold-out show, and it was I who bought the tickets. (During intermission, he bought the beer. Good son.)

And what a show it was. The Oregonian’s David Greenwald had good things to say about Hawthorne, a Michigan native whose R&B sound is influenced by Motown, as well as the opening act, Quadron, a Danish band I’d never heard of

Read his review here.

I’ll second the positive comments. Since moving to L.A., Mayer Hawthorne (born Andrew Mayer Cohen) has released three CDs, each one showing more polish. In concert, he’s fun to watch, whether singing, playing guitar or doing synchronized dance moves with his bandmates.

On a couple of songs from his current album, you’d swear you were listening to Steely Dan.

Surprise of the night: When Hawthorne played a cover of Aerosmith’s “Walk This Way” and then segued into his big hit, “The Walk.”

quadron

The dazzling Coco O.

As for Quadron, lead singer Coco O reminded me of Sade (only taller) and Lisa Stansfield, a British R&B singer who was popular in the late ’80s and early ’90s. The band is definitely on my radar now.

As a young parent, I always looked forward to attending our children’s soccer games, concerts and other activities. Now that I have three adult children, I cherish the one-on-one time with each one. They have grown into marvelous people and I feel blessed that they include Lori and me in their activities.

Last night was great all around. Nathan came over for an early dinner with Lori and me, then he and I ventured out to the concert, where we ran into a couple of my former co-workers and one of his old college roommates. Small world.

mayerhawthorne

60 feet from stardom: At the Wonder Ballroom

I don’t know who enjoyed himself more – Nathan or me – but it was great just hanging with my boy.

Photographs: David Greenwald, Nathan Rede

One thought on “Man date

  1. Pingback: Amos Lee: Even better than expected | Rough and Rede II

Leave a Reply

